Darkroom coming? – maybe, with a giant Durst D659 in the wardrobe!

I’ve commented before on this blog that although I really like the blogging, and digitising my images is necessary for that, I’d really like to get back to making ‘wet prints’ but had no space in our small flat for a darkroom (using the bathroom would ruin a beautiful relationship!).

My 'folders', now on display as the room begin to take its multi-functional shape (a few of them have a film in - no idea now what - but I may take them out today and finish them, guessing at the ASA. I've now added this pic to the blog headers which appear randomly.

My ‘folders’, now on display as the room begins to take on its multi-functional shape (a few of them have a film in – no idea now what – but I may take them out today and finish them, guessing at the ASA. I’ve now added this pic to the blog headers which appear randomly.

Then I had a brainwave (..storm’?) – could I make our small 2nd ‘bedroom’ (3m x 2m not including the wardrobe wall) into a office/guest room/darkroom/photography room? By replacing the bed with a sofa bed, putting up shelves to accommodate the ‘digitizing stuff’, and putting an enlarger in the wardrobe, I reckoned I could. And so it’s started.

I’ve now got the iMac at one end with Epson scanner and simple printer on a shelf above. I’ve still to put another small shelf underslung to accommodate the Minolta Dimage II film scanner. The light table is at the other end and I’ve a blackout roller blind to put put at the window over it. Another shelf now displays my Zeiss Ikon and other folders, to clearly state one of the functions of the room. Most of my small collection of rangefinders and SLRs, more often used, are in a display cabinet which also fits in the room.

iMac, Epson 4990 and simple S22 printer now accommodated at one end; Dimage still be accommodate.

iMac, Epson 4990 and simple S22 printer now accommodated at one end; Dimage still be accommodate.

The big job remains – to accommodate my enormous enlarger – an autofocussing Durst D659 twin lens, a true classic mechanical marvel to go with the smaller mechanical marvel picture takers – in the wardrobe. The wardrobe – covering one wall with sliding doors – is just deep enough to take the 600mm x 600mm baseboard. So, placed in the centre it will be available when the doors are slid back but close them and it will be hidden away.

I’m not likely to be able to do more before I’m on annual leave from early till the end of August, but hopefully come the winter I’ll be able to show you some first prints. For the moment I’ve just got to get the film development gear accessible again so I can continue to do that in the kitchen.

I’ve the intention to do only B&W prints, for which the Durst with its three Schneider lenses (two mounted at any one time for quick change) is ideal.

