Hidden Places: Bradford 4 – Contax AX, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8, Fuji Superia 200

This one is much more obviously ‘in view’ than the previous two, but you have to be in the right place to see it. I don’t know what function it has, if any, when it was constructed and why it is where it is. I’ll be trying to find out before I reveal where it is, if someone else doesn’t tell us before.

Contax AX, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8, Superia 200 desaturated

Contax AX, Vivitar 19mm f/3.8, Superia 200 desaturated

I’ve no idea how old it is but I do think it’s quite beautiful, especially in its setting. It looks a bit ‘wonky’ but I suspect that’s the distortion of the very wide angle lens; as you can see, I made sure the iron post in the foreground – about two feet in front of the lens – was pretty well vertical.

So, I don’t know what it is but I know where it is. Do you?

Hidden Places blog

I’ve made a small amendment to the title of this series, to begin ‘Hidden Places’, in the hope that more people will contribute pix of their hidden places around the world to the new blog hiddenplacespix.wordpress.com, on which I’ll now reblog the one below with its location.

Location of Hidden Bradford 3

It’s time to reveal the whereabouts of Hidden Bradford 3. A few yards from the busy A658 Otley Road, the principal road from Bradford city centre to Leeds-Bradford airport, the steps going nowhere are just inside the main gates of the fabulous Bradford Cemetery at Undercliffe, about 1.5 miles from the city centre. It’s clear that not many people venture up them but I cannot leave such a place unexplored. They really do go nowhere now.

