Travelling light in Dusseldorf – 3: Vivitar ultra wide and slim

On my previous trip to Dusseldorf “travelling light” I took an Olympus XA4, with 28mm lens. On my shorter trip for the weekend a week ago I travelled even lighter; the Vivitar ‘Ultra Wide and Slim’ in my pocket weighed just 68g (2.3oz) without a film. The 24 exposure Fujicolor C200 film added just 18g (0.6oz); there’s no battery.

This simple, almost ‘throwaway’ camera has become something of a cult so it’s no longer to be thrown away as they are commanding ever higher prices, silly prices given what they were originally made to sell at. But nowhere near as silly as the £329 for a new Lomo LC-wide. For the £300+ difference I’ll make do with the Vivitar’s 22mm lens rather than the 17mm of the Lomo.

Of course the Vivitar has more limitations – a single shutter speed of around 1/45 sec and a single aperture of about f/11. So for the inside pictures above the 200ASA film was far from ideal. But another limitation is a tendency to break when pulling a 36 exposure film through so I was stuck with the only 24 exposure film I had.

I finished up the film back in Bradford – after a nightmare return trip during which I was really glad I didn’t have any heavy camera gear. I may post some pix from Bradford to show some more examples of what the Vivitar can do, but if I do a post about the trip it’ll be on ‘grumpytyke’ as it didn’t have anything to do with photography.

The Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim I took to Dusseldorf with the C200 film. For the shots in the Shadow Arcade I could have done with the other one - modified to do time exposures (not by me) - but more on that when I do a post specifically on it.

The Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim I took to Dusseldorf with the C200 film. For the shots in the Shadow Arcade I could have done with the other one – modified to do time exposures (not by me) – but more on that when I do a post specifically on it.

By the way, there’s a great camera shop in the Schadow Arkaden (Shadow Arcade). There’s a window full of film cameras at the Leistenschneider shop there – including a display of all the Leica M series.

PS – the morning after I realised I’d forgotten to put in a picture of the camera – still recovering from my return journey a week ago ): . So I’ve inserted the above since posting originally.

