Why I modified the header – menus should be where you expect them!

Now I can, perhaps, get back to some photography, give more attention to the blogs I follow and even create some posts of my own!

My previous post was not intended to be a ‘post’; I was intending to add an ‘About’ heading with a little about my photographic hobby stretching back many years and some of the cameras I have owned. But, as I wrote at the time, I just did not seem to be able to make the ‘menu’ work, although I had done it on my other blog – grumpytyke.

Image from freedigitalimages.com

Image from freedigitalphotos.com

Guess what? It was working all the time but on the theme I have used – Vintage Camera – the menu is at the bottom and I just didn’t see it.

I’d almost given up but decided to see what happened if I added some widgets – recent posts etc – and, almost by accident, I scrolled to the bottom and there they were. I then noticed the menu across the bottom too.

If I had known this at the beginning I probably wouldn’t have used the theme. Viewers of web pages usually look for things where they expect to find them, as I did in this case, and to put them somewhere else is not good practice.

I don’t want to change the theme now, though I struggle to cope with the default type faces (look at the captions on my previous post – they are very difficult to read; I’ve changed the type on the ‘About’ page). So I’ve come up with what I hope is a solution. I’ve modified the header to tell readers where the menu and widgets are; I usually change the text and caption typeface to what I’m using here – Arial – not fancy but readable.

I hope it works.

